I love a new tool!

About the only thing missing from my shop was a thickness planer and decent jointer.  I saw a video review of the RIKON 12″ Combo Jointer / Planer and thought it would be a great idea for my shop (and its rapidly vanishing floor space) to get a combo set-up.  That way I would get rid of the old (nearly broken) 4″ jointer I have and replace it with a combo.

Now the RIKON is supposed to be about $1600.00 and that was a lot of money for me drop on any tool (combination or not).  I did some web surfing and found another video review of the JET 10″ combo Jointer / Planer — and the good news is that it was on $399.00 at Woodcraft.

Well – long story short – it turned out to be cheaper by about $30.00 for me to buy it at Amazon.com and pay $419.00 for it – free shipping.

Yesterday was the big day, and the box was dropped of by ABF.  I moved back into the shop and put the beasty together.

http://www.youtube.com/v/JUF8F8kEZ8Y&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0x234900&color2=0x4e9e00&border=1
And here it is:

Leave a Reply

